National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

Hsinchu City

National Yan Ming Chiao Tung University (NYMCTU, formerly NCTU) was originally founded in Shanghai, China in 1896 as the second modern university in China and re-established in Hsinchu, Taiwan in 1958 as a primary engineering and management research university.

Today NYMCTU has become a comprehensive university consisting of nine colleges with 700 full-time faculty members and 14,000 students. Among full-time students, 60% of them are in post-graduate programs. NYMCTU has approximately 610 foreign students hailing from 59 different countries or regions. NYMCTU pursues academic excellence and natural talent to ensure its uniqueness. Its vision, to be the top university in the world, is hoped to be achieved by nurturing students’ abilities in leadership and innovation

Since 2012, the Taiwan Ministry of Education (MOE) and Washington University have jointly supported up to five PhD students per year in the Taiwan MOE-WashU Fellowship in a range of programs such as biomedical sciences, engineering and applied sciences, and various social sciences. After graduation, the students have gone on to positions in academia, industry and government across the world.

Learn more about the Taiwan MOE-WashU Fellowship.


Jr-Shin Li

Ambassador to National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

Newton R. and Sarah Louisa Glasgow Wilson Professor of Engineering, McKelvey School of Engineering